Loading .LBL and .TAB data in ISIS

Dear all,

I am new to ISIS and map projection. I just started to work on the LPGRS’s half degree data (https://pds-geosciences.wustl.edu/missions/lunarp/reduced_special.html​) using ascii2isis and map2map commands; its original projection is nice to work with (simple cylindrical projection). I want to look into the 5 degree or 2 degree data, because these two data sets are relatively equally-weighted pixels than the pixels in the simple cylindrical projection. I downloaded the data from PDS geosciences node website:

https://pds-geosciences.wustl.edu/missions/lunarp/grs_elem_abundance.html

So I am trying to load the 5 degree by 5 degree iron oxide abundance data (or 2 degree by 2 degree) by Lunar Prospector Gamma Ray Spectrometer (LPGRS) into ISIS. I skimmed the documents online but I couldn’t find too much information about this. I wonder if the community has encountered a similar question. Please let me know about any thoughts and if I need to clarify my question more. Thanks!

Sincere regards,

Ya Huei

What is your goal and how do you want to use/analyze the data? If you are just using ISIS to ingest and map project, it could be a little challenging just for that. For ISIS, I think you are on the correct path by looking at ascii2isis.

So some of the data you are interested in has been converted to a more typical raster (image) format already. These data were mostly generated to be used in GIS applications like QGIS and ArcMap or ArcGIS Pro. Some of the data date back to when using the GeoTIFF was not as standardized and the images will likely not that the projection defined in the label. Depending on what tool you are using, that can be accomplished be looking over the readme and for example, defining the correct map projection using ArcCatalog or gdal_edit.py/gdal_translate (GDAL).

The first data to download and try was converted Peter Isaacson (originally Brown University):